Prelude to a Kiss

Hola mi gente,
If you can please donate to my campaign… here. If you have ever read anything here that you have founduseful, worthwhile, educational, or even ::gasp:: transformative, please consider supporting my writing/ activism. All of this takes time and effort and I hope you consider it deserving of support. Thanks.

Enjoy the holiday weekend, the ending of that summer fling that brings back the changing winds of autumn at the precise moment when you most need change.

Prelude to a Kiss

09-03-16_ Prelude to a Kiss

Closing my eyes,
seeing you,
picturing your moonlit face,
barely traceable down on your face.

 Lifting my finger to that
dust of hair on your cheek,
ruffling it against the grain of the light
until it’s a silvery powder.

Bringing my face to yours,
our mouths aligning,
but not yet kissing.

Somehow staving off
that gnawing hunger.

Our lips grazing, adjusting,
making the slightest calibrations
of angle and shape
as if we were whispering
into each other’s breaths.

Both of us straining
against an uncontrolled desire
to create our first kiss.

 A kiss I know I have been waiting
for longer than my tired eyes
could ever tell you,
to make as close
to perfect
as
possible.

— Edward-Yemíl Rosario © 2008

* * *

 

My name is Eddie and I’m in recovery from civilization…

Leave a Reply

