My New Year’s Wish

Hola mi gente,
Well, I finally made it. I posted at least one blog a day for the entire year of 2016. I think it’s a good thing because it forces me to write and I’m a lazy writer. So having this daily deadline forces me to open a blank page and start writing. I hope to do more writing this coming year. Who knows, maybe I’ll put all this shit together and try to publish a book of essays and put out some short stories…

It’s been hard, but life is good. Happy new year!

Image: Revellers cheer as confetti falls during New Year celebrations in Times Square in New York

 

I know you’re out there, whoever you are, because I see the page visits. Keep coming back.

It’s been a challenging for me, as it has been for too many people I know and perhaps you have endured some hits to the gut this ear as well. Too many of us have been “downsized” or discarded, and have been finding much too difficult to re-enter the stream.

Too many of us have lost our homes, our livelihoods, our sense of self, and sadly, our sense of hope. In all my years on this planet, I have not been confronted with the waste, the lack of opportunity, the destruction that I have seen lately…

I know I will eventually prevail, somehow, but it’s been hard, especially recently. My hope, for all of us, is that we find it in our collective will to strike back at the forces that would marginalize the vast majority of us. I’m beginning to see glimpses of that spirit this past year — especially after the recent election cycle. Something has been brewing for quite some time and that has been the most beautiful thing this year — this whole notion of taking back, of occupying, or decolonizing, of speaking truth to power.

This year has been for me, as I’m sure it has for many, extremely hard and challenging. Yet at the same time I sense that something beautiful will come from all this. I don’t know about you, but I’m not going down without a fight.

Many of you may have heard me state this before, but it bears repeating:

I don’t pray, but if I did my prayer for you would be that you would be able to discover the passion in your life and that you would be fortunate enough to make that passion your life’s work. My prayer for you would be that your every action and thought would be dedicated to making manifest that passion.

May you know love and happiness — It’s not enough to suffer. Oh yeah: Don’t. Drive. Drunk.

My name is Eddie and I’m in recovery from civilization…

Thanks for reading. If you enjoyed reading it as much as I enjoyed writing it, please consider helping me out by sharing it, liking me on Facebook, following me on Twitter, or even throwing me some money on GoFundMe HERE or via PayPal HERE so I can keep calling it like I see it.

 

Leave a Reply

